Pillsbury Gluten Free Cookie Dough Review

Earlier this week I mentioned that I recently purchased Pillsbury’s gluten-free chocolate chip cookie dough.

20130610-184204.jpg

When I found out that Pillsbury was going to sell a gluten-free line of products I was beyond thrilled.  Pillsbury was always a go-to cookie dough for me prior to being diagnosed with Celiac Disease but since my diagnosis I haven’t found a good cookie dough.  I think it’s safe to say that is not the case anymore.

20130613-223646.jpg

20130613-223635.jpg

The cookies were (obviously) super easy to bake. The directions say to scoop dough into tablespoon sized balls and place about 2 inches apart.  I made a dozen cookies and easily have at least that much dough left over for a second batch. To be honest I did not want to make them all at once because I was not sure if they would stay soft after a couple days.

20130613-223700.jpg

They did not flaten out much while they baked — something that often happens when I bake gluten-free cookies.

I may have eaten a couple right out of the oven. They were delicious. They were everything I remember a regular chocolate chip cookie tasting like.  Steve (who’s not gluten-free) even enjoyed them.

20130613-223812.jpg

20130613-223830.jpg

After the cookies cooled I put them in a zip-lock bag and ate them throughout the week.  We ended up finishing them 4 days later and they were still really soft and delicious!

20130613-223844.jpg
I had a difficult time finding a grocery store selling the new product, but I’m sure that will not always be the case.  If you love chocolate chip cookies you should give this cookie dough a try!

Questions:

What’s the best gluten-free cookie you’ve ever had?

Do you prefer chocolate chip cookies or sugar cookies?

13 thoughts on “Pillsbury Gluten Free Cookie Dough Review

  1. I can’t wait to try these! I was pumped when I saw your heading and your review made my mouth water! I really hope I can find this dough in my grocery store! I love sugar cookies more, but I will eat the chocolate chip gf any day!

  2. Last year while I was going through some serious stomach issues, I was instructed to eat GF by my doctors. I did this for about 4 months and boy was it hard to find some sweet treats that lived up to my expectations!
    Do you have a Wegman’s close to you? Their GF cake, brownie and cookie mix are AMAZING! Give those a try :)
    i prefer sugar cookies…with sprinkles :)

  3. What a great review! Do you find that big companies abandon these projects? Will you have to buy the dough online? Good grief! I hope you can find them soon! Chocolate chip (and any other cookie, really) cookies are a necessity.

    • I’ve not noticed big companies abandoning these projects, but often they fall flat compared to the companies that specialize in gluten-free products. I was able to find it in a grocery store which was great! It’s nice to have an easy dessert that you don’t need anything else to make, so I suspect I will buy it again.

  4. Hey Ashley. Could you please tell me the name of the store where you found the Pillsbury Gluten Free doughs? Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Happy six month anniversary to us! | Our Personal Records

Leave a Reply

