Productivity at it’s finest

Hope everyone had a great holiday weekend! I know was busy as could be!

My weekend started Friday when Steve and I went to see The Avett Brothers! I’ve been a fan for several years and had never seen them so I was excited! They sounded great live and put on a really great show. The only disappointing thing was that the concert was outside and it was literally in the 40s. We were so bundled, and even so had to leave a little early because we were freezing!20130528-135231.jpg

As far as Saturday goes, I have no idea what happened. All I do know is that we woke up early and one thing lead to another and before I knew it we were mulching our front garden. That was proceeded by enjoying this Woodchuck Cider Private Reserve – Pink.

20130528-135223.jpg

It is not Pink Lemonade-esque as I had hoped, but the flavor is really light and refreshing. If you enjoy Woodchuck Cider, it’s kind of like their Crisp variety, but a little sweeter. And although it was delicious, and I really mean that, it pales in comparison to my true loves — Summer (blueberry flavored cider) and Pumpkin. Both of these are only available seasonally and I’ve learned that when they come out I have to stock up.

After we finished mulching I began to prep for the cookout we had on Sunday. I get really stressed when I’m making food for a bunch of people, and although this was the case I was less concerned about cooking and more concerned about where everyone would sit!

The menu consisted of:

Burgers20130528-135247.jpg

Hot dogs

Spicy beer queso with chorizo and black beansthis was good, but the beer taste was really over powering which probably had to do with my use of GF beer.

Grilled potatoes – I steamed the potatoes earlier in the day and then covered in olive oil, garlic, onion powder, thyme and whatever else you have. When our company arrived they went on the grill in a grilling basket. It worked out perfectly because they crisped up quickly and I didn’t have to worry about them cooking through.

String beans

Fruit salad

20130528-135236.jpg

Guacamole

Baked corn (made by my sissy)

Carrot cake – I substituted flour with Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour and added in 1 teaspoon of xanthan gum.  I also substituted yogurt with Greek yogurt.

I think everything turned out great. Too bad I’m a terrible blogger who doesn’t take pictures.  The only reason the fruit salad and burger with string beans and potatoes made the cut is because I took pictures when I was eating them as leftovers.

Monday involved going out with my family for a bit, and then hitting up our favorite breakfast spot for dinner! They make the best gluten-free blueberry pancakes, and Steve swears by their crepes.

20130528-135242.jpg

I totally fell off the proverbial wagon this weekend, and am ready to get back on track! I’ve been throwing around ideas for next month’s Monthly Mindset, but haven’t decided what it will be.

Questions:

What is something you’re going to focus on during June?

How was your weekend? 

Did you also fall off the wagon and into a food coma?

14 thoughts on “Productivity at it’s finest

  1. WOW! Your fruit salad looks sooo good. I’m addicted to watermelon these days. :)

    Seems like you had an amazing weekend. I love watching outdoor concerts but usually my hubby and I would do it in the summer. I like those outdoor symphonies. :)

  2. Love love love love the Avett Brothers! They are incredible live. We saw them at a smaller indoor venue last year and it was perfect. I am hoping they come back around here again soon!

    I’ve been on a salted caramel binge lately…but it’s so good….

    • Salted caramel sounds right up my ally. I LOVE Avett in college, and completely overdid it – as per usual – and had to take a year or two off. I really dig their new stuff though, and after seeing them live, I’m coming back around!

  3. I’m going to focus on smart training.

    My weekend was fabulous-perfect weather and good times with the fam!

    I fell into major food/beer coma, I’m definitely working on detox.

  4. Mmm I love string beans, I’m not sure why but they may be my fav veggie. I love having people over, but my husband isn’t a big fan of it lol I’m glad you had yummy food at your cookout(only my friends from the south say this, I always just say BBQ)=)

  5. You are a wonderful blogger who is too absorbed in living life to remember to take silly pictures! I love the ones you included!
    The cider sounds yummy and the carrot cake sounds like it was delicious and healthy. I had an off-the-wagon day today. I think that’s probably what made me think that a 6-mile trail run was a good idea!!

  6. Pingback: The Black Keys and (beautiful) Buffalo | Our Personal Records

Leave a Reply

